About the Tasmanian Aviation Historical Society
The Tasmanian Aviation Historical Society (TAHS) was formed and incorporated in Launceston, Tasmania in mid 2019.
The origins of the Society, however, date back to 2014. A founding member together with his business partner, commenced a lease on an old hangar at the airport for their new whisky distillery business. Being curious he decided to do some research on it and found the hangar had a fascinating history.
Hangar 17, as it is known by now, was built by the Holyman brothers in 1933 for the first 2 aircraft that commenced commercial aviation from Tasmania (Miss Flinders and Miss Currie). While researching Chris heard about a historian (Neil, since deceased) based at the nearby Evandale History Society and decided to look him up.
As they say, “the rest is history”. The 2 realised that Tasmania had a rich history in aviation and aviators and no-one was promoting it. So TAHS was born a few years later.
ABN: 49 591 672 078